Behavior Theory In Health Promotion Practice And Research

Behavior Theory In Health Promotion Practice And ResearchGrounded in public health practice, this text offers a comprehensive study of the health behavior theories that are the foundation of all health education and promotion programs. Your students will come away with a clear understanding of essential relationships between human behavior and health, as well as the practical application of theory and approaches to health promotion research and practice. Designed for graduates or upper level undergraduates, the book maintains a consistent, single voic…

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirEdited by Robert M. Huff, Michael V. Kline, and Darleen V. Peterson, the Third Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations offers both students and practitioners an indispensable resource on assessment and implementation guid#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the questi…

Delivering Health Care In America (Delivering Health Care in America: A Systems Approach)

Delivering Health Care In America (Delivering Health Care in America: A Systems Approach)Given the recent and rapid developments in the delivery of health care in the United States, never has it been more important to have the most up-to-date resources for teaching students about this complex and dynamic industry. Now in its Fifth Edition, Delivering Health Care in America offers the most current and comprehensive overview of the basic structures and operations of the U.S. health system–from its historical origins and resources, to its individual services, cost, and quality. Using …

Mothers, Babies and Health in Later Life, 2e

Mothers, Babies and Health in Later Life, 2eHere’s the 2nd Edition of a text outlining and providing evidence for one of the most important epidemiological theories of recent years, the “Barker Hypothesis”*that nutrition in the womb determines susceptibility to diseases in later life….

Essential Epidemiology: An Introduction for Students and Health Professionals (Essential Medical Texts for Students and Trainees)

Essential Epidemiology: An Introduction for Students and Health Professionals (Essential Medical Texts for Students and Trainees)This is an accessible, easily readable, and modern introduction to epidemiology for students of medicine and public health. It combines a strong public health perspective and rationale with modern methodological insights in a coherent and straight forward way. It emphasises the fundamental principles common to all areas of epidemiology and, unlike many other texts, integrates both public health and clinical epidemiology and the study of infectious and chronic diseases. It aims to give health pro…

Epidemiology in Medical Practice: Student Notes

Epidemiology in Medical Practice: Student NotesIn the first section of this book an introduction is made to the methods used to decribe disease in populations. Measurement of the frequency and changing patterns of diseases is essential to ensure that the deploymnet of medical resources matches the community’s needs. Without such measurements, needs for health care may be unidentified. The second section describes the application of epidemiology in the discovery of causes of disease. Most hypotheses about causation subsequently confirmed by e…

Essential Public Health: Theory and Practice (Essential Medical Texts for Students and Trainees)

Essential Public Health: Theory and Practice (Essential Medical Texts for Students and Trainees)How can society most effectively prevent disease and promote health? This is the challenge addressed by this textbook. Public health has been defined as the art and science of preventing disease, prolonging life and promoting health through the organised efforts of society. The ‘science’ is concerned with making a diagnosis of a population’s health problems, establishing their cause, and determining effective interventions. The ‘art’ is to address these problems creatively. The aim of this book …

Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations: A Handbook for Practitioners and Students

Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations: A Handbook for Practitioners and StudentsThe thoroughly updated Second Edition of Health Promotion in Multicultural Populations grounds readers in the understanding that health promotion programs in multicultural settings require an in-depth knowledge of the cultural group being targeted. Numerous advances and improvements in theory and practice in health promotion and disease prevention (HPDP) are presented. Editors Michael V Kline and Robert M Huff have expanded the book to include increased attention directed to students and instruc…

Epidemiology for Public Health Practice Student Study Guide

Epidemiology for Public Health Practice Student Study GuideEpidemiologic speculations and research findings increasingly blaze across media headlines and heighten anxiety among the public. Understanding the foundations of such news can be daunting. Now in its third edition, Epidemiology for Public Health Practice has become a favorite textbook for undergraduate and graduate students new to epidemiology by providing a comprehensive look at all major topics, from study designs and descriptive epidemiology, to quantitative measures and terminology. Disting…